Faculty of Law at Colombo University

The Faculty of Law at University of Colombo is the only faculty concerned with law in the entire university system of Sri Lanka. In addition to Bachelors Law Degree it offers Masters, MPhil and PhD Degrees. The Faculty was started as Department of Law under Faculty of Arts of University of Ceylon and later promoted to the status of a separate faculty, “Faculty of Law” in 1967.

Academic Departments in Faculty of Law

The Faculty of Law has three departments functioning under it. These are,

Department of Commercial Law

Department of Commercial Law is a new and dynamic departments at University of Colombo. It was established in 2009, presently offering 5 subjects at undergraduate and 6 subjects at post graduate levels. It hopes to expand its curriculum, in view of the growing needs of specialized legal academics in diverse areas such as banking, arbitration, insurance, competition policy and so on. Click here to know more information about Department of Commercial Law.

Department of Private and Comparative Law

The Department of Private and Comparative Law strives to provide its students with a diverse and intellectually rigorous learning environment. It supports in acquiring knowledge of law in its broadest sense. Click here to view more information on Department of Private and Comparative Law.

Department of Public and International Law

It is one of the youngest departments in the University of Colombo which started functioning in 2009. Currently the department offers 10 subjects at the under graduate level and 3 subjects at the post graduate level. Click here to obtain further information on Department of Public and International Law.

Programs offered by Faculty of Law

The Faculty of Law offers under graduate, post graduate programmes, M.Phil and PhD programs to the students. The under graduate course offered by the Faculty of Law is a 4 year LLB degree program, known as Bachelor of Laws Degree (LL.B.). Click here to know more information on the programmes offered by Faculty of Law.

Counseling at Faculty of Law

The University provides free counseling service to all under graduate students. Counselling is given by student counselors who function under the guidance of senior student counselors, in academic as well as personal matters. The students can approach either a male or a female counselor as per their need and at any time of their choice either during consultation time or with prior appointment. Click here to know more about counselling at Faculty of Law.

Centre for the Study of Human Rights (CSHR)

Centre for the Study of Human Rights (CSHR) was established in 1991 with an objective of contributing and promoting human rights educational and research activities. This is done for university community, as well as the general public. Various structured programs are conducted for various target groups, to promote public awareness and recognition of human rights issues.

The CSHR conducts a human rights training program for newly passed out lawyers on human rights litigation along with a diploma program for human rights activists. The centre also offers an internship program for law graduates as well as overseas graduates.

Moreover, CSHR also maintains a library with considerably good collection of books, journals and reports on national, international and comparative human rights law and concerned areas.

To know more about the Faculty of Law visit www.cmb.ac.lk/academic/law/node/1

Connect me with the Top Colleges
First Name:
Last Name:
E-Mail ID :
You live in:
Mobile Number:
You want to study in:
Highest Level of Education:
Study Preference:
You want to Study:
Need an education loan?
loading Processing...
  • No Articles to display

More »

  • No Press Releases to display

More »


Srilanka Select a Country

Our Network :